الدكتور. جون ديفيد أرنولد

الدكتور. ولد جون ديفيد أرنولد في "بنسلفانيا الهولندية البلد" في مزرعة صغيرة تقع بالقرب من [دولستوون في مقاطعة ميلووكي. وكان والده الراحل الذي يعود تاريخه إلى أوائل عام 1600 عائلة الكاتب والمخترع, الذي كتب أول دليل سياحي السيارات المكسيك لتريبل ايه ومجلات ميكانيكا الشعبية في عام 1950. كانت والدته فنان, نحات, وصاحب العمل الصغير من تذكارات Grayce في باتاغونيا, أريزونا حتى سن 97. الدكتور. أرنولد ديه أختان, جاني & إلين. الدكتور. وكان أرنولد وهو من سكان ولاية أريزونا لأكثر من خمسة عقود ويقيم حاليا في كل من توكسون وباتاغونيا, أريزونا. الدكتور. أرنولد هو احد الوالدين مع ثلاث بنات وربيب واحد; لوري, ريناتو, (ولد في ليما, بيرو) Chaska, 19 وتيكا, 16. كل أربعة وقد حضر وبرع في المدارس المستأجرة التقليدية والعامة. الدكتور. انتقل أرنولد إلى غوادالاخارا, المكسيك مع عائلته عندما كان عمره ست سنوات, وحضر المدرسة الابتدائية في نقابة سرفانتس. انتقل إلى نوغاليس, أريزونا بعد خمس سنوات في غوادالاخارا. ثم انتقلت عائلته إلى توكسون في الجانب الجنوبي حوالي عام 1958 حيث حضر يكفيلد إعدادية ومدرسة ثانوية بويبلو. بعد ذلك, الدكتور. تخرج أرنولد من جامعة أريزونا, مع درجة البكالوريوس في علم الاجتماع والإسبانية, اثنين من الدرجات الماجستير في الإدارة والتعليم, (M. و) مع دكتوراه. في نفس المجالات. في سن 12, لأنه تحدث الاسبانية انه دعي من قبل وزارة الحافلة كنيسته للذهاب إلى مخيمات لعامل براسيرو كمترجم. في سن 16, قاد له حافلة الكنيسة الخاصة وأنشأت الوزارات المهاجرين في وادي سانتا كروز, Rillito, ومارانا, أريزونا. في سن 18, كان رسامة وكراعي الكنيسة المعمدانية الجنوبية الأولى في كاتالينا, أريزونا. كان تعليمه والتدريب المهني في المدارس الخاصة حيث نظمت جمعية أريزونا المستقلة مدرسة ثانوية رياضية. له كرة السلة, كرة القدم, المسار والبيسبول فرق كل دولة بطولات فاز في 1966.

في 1967, بينما كان يعمل في برنامج هيد ستارت, الدكتور. كتب أرنولد PPEP الأولى, المؤتمر الوطني العراقي. منح الاقتراح المقدم إلى الحرب توكسون على برنامج الحد من الفقر, التي بدأها الرئيسان كينيدي / جونسون الإدارات. كان التمويل الأولي ل $19,000, من الذي اشترى 48 راكب 1957 الحافلة المدرسية شيفروليه المعروف باسم "لا تورتوجا" (السلحفاة). الدكتور. وكان أرنولد السائق, ميكانيكي والمدرسة المعلم نقل تعاليم تربوية عملية لمساعدة عمال المزارع براسيرو تعد نفسها لتكون منتجة في مجتمعنا. بعد أن عاش في المكسيك, وقال انه يفهم مباشرة ما كان عليه للعيش والدراسة في مجتمع غير مألوف مع لغة وثقافة مختلفة.

من بدايات متواضعة في PPEP على متن لا تورتوجا 49 منذ سنوات, الدكتور. أرنولد, وقد سعى المجلس PPEP الإدارة والموظفين المتفانين لتنفيذ الأحلام إلى "تحسين نوعية الحياة" من عمال المزارع ومنهم الريفية الفقيرة زار الحافلة في تلك السنوات التكوينية. وقد استشهد عمله كنماذج الوطنية 10 مرات في الامريكية. سجلات الكونغرس, بما في ذلك من خلال الاستشهادات الامريكية. الكونجرس يودال, كولبي, القس, جريجالفا, جيفوردز, وأعضاء مجلس الشيوخ: DeConcini, ماكين, وكيل العنزي وايومنغ. وقد تم تكريم برامجه مرتين في البيت الأبيض, من بين العديد من الجوائز الأخرى وطنيا ودوليا. عضو الكونغرس الأمريكي, إد باستور كتب "ومن رؤيتك والطاقة التي حولت" لا تورتوجا "إلى قوة رئيسية ل" تحسين نوعية الحياة في ولاية اريزونا والعالم ". السيناتور الأمريكي, كتب مايك العنزي, "قد يكون الشخص الأكثر ابتكارا أعرف. انها دائما رائعة لمعرفة التطورات الجديدة والمثيرة للاهتمام الخاص, بالإضافة إلى كونه صوتا لللعامل المهاجرين وأطفالهم. "صرح السناتور ماكين" في نهاية المطاف بكثير من مستقبلنا يعتمد على برامج مثل PPEP " www.ppep.org.

الدكتور. خدم أرنولد في مجلس متروبوليتان التعليم توكسون لمدة عشر سنوات (1990 إلى 2000). وكان له دور فعال في تأسيس 11 لعامل, المدارس الثانوية المدينة الريفية والداخلية الميثاق PPEP TEC, التي تخرج 3,500 في- الطلاب المخاطر مع دبلومات المدارس الثانوية كاملة. في 2003, PPEP شراكة مع شركة K-12. وأنشأت ArizonaVirtualAcademy. هذا هو K - 12 برامج تعليمية الصف على الخط مع أكثر من 4,000 الطلاب (www.AZVA.org). في 2007, شراكة مع انسايت التابعة لجامعة فينيكس فتحت ميثاق المدارس الثانوية الظاهري في ولاية كاليفورنيا وايداهو. البصيرة في ولاية اريزونا 2012. في 1985 الدكتور. أرنولد المنظمة واحدة من أولى برامج الأعمال الصغيرة في الولايات المتحدة مع نموذج المستوردة من المكسيك. حتى الآن, وقد قدم هذا البرنامج على 22 مليون دولار لقطاع الأعمال الصغيرة تقع في المقام الأول على منطقة الحدود مع الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك. الدكتور. وقد خدم أرنولد أيضا على المجلس الوطني الاستشاري عامل المزرعة بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة. وزارة العمل تحت ثلاثة أمناء الولايات المتحدة, تقديم الاستشارات. مؤخرا, وقال انه كان نشطا في تشكيل المجلس الوطني للتجارة ثنائية تشجيع الاستيراد والتصدير والمعارض للمنتجات الصغرى التي كان يطلق عليه "ميني أو مايكرو نافتا" في 1990, هبة من $5,000 وقدم إلى FAI دي سونورا للاستفادة صندوق القروض الصغيرة في الريف والتي هي حاليا واحدة من أكبر الشركات في المكسيك, مقرها في مدينة أوبريغون, سونورا. كان اسمه هناك قاعة للمشاهير لعامل لجهوده. شارك يذكره مؤخرا مع توكسون المكسيك مدن الشقيقة المشروع. في 2007 قام بتنظيم جهود الإغاثة الإنسانية الكبرى بين الضحايا وياكي مايو القبائل من المكسيك إعصار هنرييت هذا إلى جانب جهود مماثلة في الكوارث وتاباسكو خيمينا. في 2008, خلقت لولاك على الجائزة الوطنية الإنسانية باسمه. علاوة على ذلك, فاوض 3.25 مليون في المنح الدراسية الاستفادة 100 الطلاب لاتيني مع جامعة فينيكس.

اليوم إرث "لا تورتوجا" حافلة المدرسة يعيش على من خلال أكثر من 550 العاملين في 35 مكاتب التدريب الميداني والعمل على مستوى الولاية. علاوة على ذلك, PPEP شركة. وقد اعترفت 92الثاني أكبر رب عمل في جنوب ولاية اريزونا. يوفر PPEP تمريرة- من خلال الأموال إلى القاعدة الشعبية لعامل برامج الإسكان بأسعار معقولة في الولايات روكي ماونتن وهاواي. أكبر برنامج لPPEP, الذي لديه مكانة خاصة في الدكتور. أرنولد القلب, تقدم خدمات إلى تعطيل تنمويا. وقد أنشأت PPEP 18 مجموعة منازل, سكني, ومواقع العمل عبر الريفية أريزونا. ذكرت افتتاحية أريزونا ستار "أرنولد هو المعالج في تمتد المال من مصادر حكومية وخاصة للحصول على أقصى استفادة منها ومساعدة المحتاجين في المناطق الريفية فضلا عن منحهم الكرامة في حياتهم, "هذا هو أفضل المال يمكن شراء الخدمة". وكان اتصال ماوي وهو مصطلح يطلق على الهجرة PPEP من عشرات عمال المزارع اسباني إلى جزيرة ماوي للعمل في حقول قصب والأناناس في عام 1990. فيما بعد, تم إنشاء برنامج القروض الصغيرة هناك, التي تغطي الآن جميع الجزر.

في الامريكية. منحت وزارة التربية والتعليم PPEP برنامج معادلة مدرسة ثانوية (HEP), عقد ثانية مدتها خمس سنوات لمساعدة عمال المزارع المهاجرين الكبار للحصول على شهادة GED بهم. حتى الآن, بعض 1,000 وقد تخرج البالغين لعامل من البرنامج HEP في مقاطعة يوما وحدها. شباب هود بتمويل بناء وعمل برنامج 158 إسقاط الرافضة مع مهارات البناء والوظائف بناء وإعادة تأهيل أكثر من 120 وبنيت 30 المنازل الجديدة لعامل في سان لويس وسوميرتون, أريزونا. في منتصف PPEP 1980, المؤتمر الوطني العراقي. وكان أكبر المقاول الفرعي نافاجو الأمة في التدريب المهني, الإسكان والتدريب على استخدام الحاسوب المدارس بأسعار معقولة. في 2000, قام بتنظيم المجلس لولاك عامل المزرعة #1088, الذي كان أكبر مجلس الكبار في البلاد. علاوة على ذلك, قام بتنظيم العشرات من شباب لولاك, لولاك KIDZ, والكبار المجالس لولاك, معظمهم من لعامل في ولاية أريزونا والمناطق الريفية. في 2013 , لولاك الوطني الرئيس مارجريت موران إعادة تعيينه الدكتور. أرنولد على حد سواء لولاك رئيس القومي للتعليم ورئيس العلاقات الدولية لشروط السابع, التي هي من بين عصبة المتحدة أمريكا اللاتينية المواطنين أعلى الأولويات. في 2007, الدكتور. نظمت أرنولد أول مجلس لولاك الدولية في هيرموسيلو, المكسيك, فيما بعد, تليها الهند وأفريقيا. الدكتور. أرنولد تدير في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في باتاغونيا, أريزونا, الهدايا والشموع ورشة Grayce وكذلك في ضياء دي لوس Muertos المتحف التي اعترفت معهد سميثسونيان باسم "الأول من نوعه في أمريكا الشمالية" www.grayces.com. في PPEP, المؤتمر الوطني العراقي. الحافلة القديمة "لا تورتوجا" تمت استعادة وضعها في قاعة مشاهير عامل المزرعة اعترف به أيضا سميثسونيان مع الزوار في جميع أنحاء العالم. بين 2010 و 2012, أدار الندوات جنبا إلى جنب مع الدكتور. غابرييل Cousens على العلاج الطبيعي للسكري / غانا المستدامة والزراعة العضوية, نيجيريا, وإثيوبيا وديسمبر 2013 في الكاميرون.

في 2005, قام بتنظيم الشراكة إعصاري كاترينا / ريتا عامل المزرعة الإغاثة التي شملت العناية العالمي, لولاك, والمجلس دلتا المسيسيبي أن بي سي يسمى "أكبر منظمة غير الحكومية أخبار, جهود الإغاثة بين الدول من نوعه, من أي وقت مضى. "وقد تم توثيق هذه جهود الإغاثة في خمس صفحات من سجل الولايات المتحدة في الكونغرس. أيضا في 2008, الدكتور. أنشئت الثلاثة الأولى أرنولد الائتمان / التعاونية "الهجين" صناديق القروض الصغرى أفريقيا في نيجيريا وغانا. www.ghanaoldbaika.org. في 2011 أسس جمعية التمكين الريفية غرب أفريقيا التي تشرف على المدارس التنمية الاقتصادية, مشاريع التغذية والثقافية. www.africawaresdonate.org. تم الإبلاغ عن هذه الجهود في غرب أفريقيا شمس يومية أخبار; "العمل الخيري مع الفرق; كيف لمست اميركي حياة الملايين. "والتقى مع قداسة الدالاي لاما في مقر اقامته في دارامسالا, التقى الهند مع رئيس إثيوبيا 2011. أيضا في 2012, أسس التغذية, القروض الصغيرة, مشاريع الزراعة المستدامة في الكاميرون وإثيوبيا. في 2010, وكانت تتألف اثنين واحد في القصص الإنجليزية والإسبانية واحد في المسجلة على مسار حياته. صاغ أقوال تحفيزية; إذا أنه قد وإذا كنت تستطيع!

الجوائز وشكر وتقدير

ولاك الوطني سيزار تشافيز القيادة وجائزة خدمة المجتمع 2004
أريزونا ولاك "رجل العام" جائزة 2004 و 2006
قسيس لولاك ولاية اريزونا
رئيس ولاك التعليم الوطنية للرئيس & العلاقات الدولية الرئاسة
جائزة الإنسانية الوطنية مكون باسمه 2008
رؤساء AFOP جائزة الإنسانية 2009
الروتاري أويري, منطقة نيجيريا 9140
ارتقى إلى مركز رويال "نانا المتجمعين Omaboyo,"Baika-Buem المملكة, غانا 2011
رسامة موه Ntoh ,صندوق الأمير Bambui, الكاميرون
الاعتراف Ohtli 2016

Dr. John David Arnold

Dr. John David Arnold was born in ‘Pennsylvania Dutch Country’ on a small farm located near Doylestown in Bucks County.  His late father whose family dates from the early 1600’s was a writer and inventor, who wrote the first motor tourist guide of Mexico for Triple A and Popular Mechanics Magazines in the 1950’s.  His mother was an artist, sculptor, and micro business owner of Grayce’s Gift Shop in Patagonia, Arizona until age of 97.  Dr. Arnold has two sisters, Janie & Elaine.  Dr. Arnold has been a resident of Arizona for over five decades and presently resides in both Tucson and Patagonia, Arizona.  Dr. Arnold is a single parent with three daughters and one stepson; Loree, Renato, (born in Lima, Peru) Chaska, 19 and Tika, 16.  All four have attended and excelled in traditional and public charter schools.   Dr. Arnold moved to Guadalajara, Mexico with his family when he was six years old, and attended elementary school at Colegio Cervantes.  He moved to Nogales, Arizona after five years in Guadalajara.  His family then moved to Tucson’s south side circa 1958 where he attended Wakefield Junior High and Pueblo High Schools.  Subsequently, Dr. Arnold graduated from the University of Arizona, with a Bachelor’s Degree in Spanish and Sociology, two Master’s Degrees in Administration and Education, (M. Ed) with a Ph.D. in the same fields.  At age 12, because he spoke Spanish he was invited by his church’s bus ministry to go to the Bracero farmworker camps as an interpreter. At age 16, he drove his own church bus and established the migrant ministries in Santa Cruz Valley, Rillito, and Marana, Arizona.  At age 18, he was ordained and pastored the First Southern Baptist Church in Catalina, Arizona.  His teaching and coaching career was in private schools where he organized the Arizona Independent High School Athletic Association.  His basketball, football, track and baseball teams all won state championships in 1966.

In 1967, while working for the Head Start Program, Dr. Arnold wrote the first PPEP, Inc. grant proposal submitted to the Tucson War on Poverty Program, which was initiated by the Presidents Kennedy/Johnson Administrations.  The initial funding was for $19,000, from which he bought a 48 passenger 1957 Chevrolet school bus known as “La Tortuga” (the tortoise).  Dr. Arnold was the driver, mechanic and school teacher imparting practical educational teachings to help the Bracero farmworkers prepare themselves to be productive in our society.  Having lived in Mexico, he understood first-hand what it was to live and study in an unfamiliar society with a different language and culture.

From PPEP’s humble beginnings aboard La Tortuga 49 years ago, Dr. Arnold, the PPEP Board of Directors and dedicated staff have sought to carry out the dreams to “improve the quality of life” of the farmworkers and rural poor whom visited the bus in those formative years.  His work has been cited as national models 10 times in U.S. Congressional Records, including citations by U.S. Congressmen Udall, Kolbe, Pastor, Grijalva, Giffords, and Senators: DeConcini, McCain, Kyl and Enzi of Wyoming. His programs have been honored twice at the White House, among numerous other recognitions nationally and internationally.  US Congressman, Ed Pastor wrote “It is your vision and energy that transformed ‘La Tortuga’ into a major force for ‘Improving the quality of life in Arizona and the world”.  US Senator, Mike Enzi wrote, “you may be the most innovative person I know.  It’s always fascinating to learn of your new and intriguing advances, plus being a voice for the migrant farmworker and their kids.”  Senator McCain stated “Ultimately much of our future depends on programs such as PPEP” www.ppep.org.

Dr. Arnold served on the Tucson Metropolitan Education Council for ten years (1990 to 2000).  He has been instrumental in establishing 11 farmworker, rural and inner city PPEP TEC charter high schools, which have graduated 3,500 at- risk students with full high school diplomas.  In 2003, PPEP partnered with K-12 Inc. and established the ArizonaVirtualAcademy. This is a K – 12 grade on-line instructional programs with over 4,000 students (www.AZVA.org).  In 2007, a partnership with Insight affiliated with the University of Phoenix has opened virtual charter high schools in California and Idaho. Insight Arizona in 2012.  In 1985 Dr. Arnold organized one of the first micro business programs in the US with a model imported from Mexico.  To date, this program has lent over 22 million dollars to micro business located primarily on the US Mexico border region.  Dr. Arnold has also served on the National Farmworker Advisory Council for the U.S. Department of Labor under three US Secretaries, providing consultation.  Most recently, he has been active in the formation of The Bi National Trade Council promoting import and export and expositions of microbusiness products which has been called the “Mini or Micro NAFTA.”  In 1990, a donation of $5,000 was made to FAI de Sonora to capitalize their rural micro loan fund which presently is one of the largest in Mexico, based in Ciudad Obregon, Sonora. There a farmworker Hall of Fame was named for his efforts. Mot recently participated with Tucson Mexico Sister Cities project. In 2007 he organized a major humanitarian relief effort among the Yaqui and Mayo tribes’ victims of Mexico’s Hurricane Henriette this coupled with similar efforts in the Tabasco and Jimena disasters.  In 2008, LULAC created a National Humanitarian Award in his name. Moreover, he negotiated 3.25 million in scholarships benefiting 100 Latino students with University of Phoenix.

Today the legacy of the “La Tortuga” school bus lives on through the over 550 employees in 35 field and job training offices statewide. Furthermore, PPEP Inc. has been recognized the 92nd largest employer in Southern Arizona.  PPEP provides pass- through funds to farmworker grass roots affordable housing programs in the Rocky Mountain States and Hawaii.  PPEP’s largest program, which has a special place in Dr. Arnold heart, provides services to the developmentally disabled.  PPEP has established 18 group homes, residential, and work sites across rural Arizona. The Arizona Star Editorial stated “ Arnold is a wizard at stretching money from government and private sources to get the most out of them and aid the rural needy as well as give them dignity in their lives, “that is the best service money can buy.”  The Maui Connection was a term given to PPEP’s migration of dozens Hispanic farmworkers to the Island of Maui to work the pineapple and cane fields in 1990’s. Later, a micro loan program was established there, which now covers all the islands.

The U.S. Department of Education awarded PPEP the High School Equivalency Program (HEP), a second five-year contract to assist adult migrant farmworkers to obtain their GED certification.   To date, some 1,000 farmworker adults have graduated from the HEP program in Yuma County alone.  The HUD funded Youth Build Program has served 158 drop outs with construction skills and jobs building and rehabilitating over 120 and built 30 new farmworker homes in San Luis and Somerton, Arizona.  In the mid 1980’s PPEP, Inc. was the Navajo Nation’s largest sub-contractor in job training, affordable housing and computer training schools.  In 2000, he organized the Farmworker LULAC Council #1088, which was the nation’s largest adult council. Furthermore, he organized dozens of LULAC Youth, LULAC KIDZ, and adult LULAC councils, mostly among Arizona’s farmworker and rural regions.   In 2013 , the LULAC National President Margaret Moran re-appointed Dr. Arnold as both LULAC National Chair of Education and Chair of International Relations for a seventh terms, which are among the League of United Latin America Citizens highest priorities.  In 2007, Dr. Arnold organized LULAC’s first international council in Hermosillo, Mexico, later, followed by India and Africa.  Dr. Arnold manages on the weekends in Patagonia, Arizona, Grayce’s Gift and Candle Shop as well as the Dia de Los Muertos Museum which the Smithsonian Institute has recognized as the “first of its kind in North America” www.grayces.com.  At PPEP, Inc. the old bus “La Tortuga” has been restored and placed in the Farmworker Hall of Fame also recognized by the Smithsonian with visitors worldwide. Between 2010 and 2012, he conducted seminars along with Dr. Gabriel Cousens on the natural cure of Diabetes/sustainable organic farming Ghana, Nigeria, and Ethiopia and December 2013 in Cameroon.

In 2005, he organized the Hurricanes Katrina/Rita Farmworker Relief partnership that included World Care, LULAC, and Mississippi Delta Council that NBC News called “the largest non-governmental, interstate relief effort of its kind, ever.”  This relief effort was documented in five pages of the US Congressional Record.  Also in 2008, Dr. Arnold established Africa’s first three micro credit/cooperative “Hybrid” loan funds in Nigeria and Ghana. www.ghanaoldbaika.org.   In 2011 he established the West African Rural Empowerment Society that oversees schools economic development, nutrition and cultural projects. www.africawaresdonate.org.  These efforts were reported in the West African Daily Sun News; “Philanthropy with a Difference; How an American Touched the Lives of Millions.” He met with His Holiness the Dalai Lama at his residence in Dharamsala, India met with the President of Ethiopia 2011. Also in 2012, he established nutrition, micro credit, sustainable farming projects in Cameroon and Ethiopia.  In 2010, two ballads one in English and one in Spanish were composed recorded on his life pathway. Coined the motivational sayings; Si Se Pudo y Si se Podrá! 

Awards and Acknowledgements

LULAC National Cesar Chavez Leadership and Community Service Award 2004
Arizona LULAC “Man of the Year” Award 2004 and 2006
Chaplain for LULAC Arizona
LULAC National Education Chair Co Chair & International Relations Chair
National Humanitarian Award Created in his name 2008
AFOP Presidents Humanitarian Award 2009
Rotarian Owerri, Nigeria District 9140
Elevated to Royal Status “Nana Bloti Omaboyo,” Baika-Buem Kingdom, Ghana 2011
Ordained Moh Ntoh ,Prince Bambui Fondom, Cameroon
Reconocimiento Ohtli 2016