博士. 约翰·大卫·阿诺德

博士. 约翰·大卫·阿诺德在一个小农场附近的Doylestown的巴克斯县出生在'宾州荷兰村“. 他已故的父亲的家族可以追溯到早期1600年代是一个作家和发明家, 谁写的第一电动机的旅游墨西哥的三A和引导大众机械杂志在1950年. 他的母亲是一个艺术家, 雕塑家, 和Grayce的礼品店在巴塔哥尼亚微企业主, 亚利桑那州,直到年龄 97. 博士. 阿诺德有两个姐姐, 珍妮 & 伊莱恩. 博士. 阿诺德一直是亚利桑那州的居民超过五十年,目前居住在这两个图森和巴塔哥尼亚, 亚利桑那. 博士. 阿诺德是一个有三个女儿和一个继子单亲; 友, 雷纳托, (出生于利马, 秘鲁) 查斯卡, 19 和提卡, 16. 所有四个出席并擅长传统和公立特许学校. 博士. 阿诺德搬到瓜达拉哈拉, 墨西哥与他的家人时,他六岁, 并参加小学的存留塞万提斯. 他搬到诺加利斯, 在亚利桑那州的瓜达拉哈拉五年后. 他的家人则搬到图森的南侧大约 1958 在那里,他参加了韦克菲尔德初中和镇中学. 后来, 博士. 阿诺德从亚利桑那大学毕业, 有学士学位的西班牙语和社会学, 两个硕士学位的管理和教育, (M. 和) 有博士学位. 在相同的字段. 在年龄 12, 因为他讲西班牙语,他邀请他的教会的事工公交车去了短工雇农营当翻译. 在年龄 16, 他开着他自己的教会巴士,并建立在圣克鲁斯谷农民部委, Rillito, 和马拉纳, 亚利桑那. 在年龄 18, 他被祝圣和牧养江南第一浸信会教堂的卡塔利娜, 亚利桑那. 他的教学和执教生涯是在私立学校,他组织了亚利桑那州的独立高中运动协会. 他的篮球, 足球, 田径棒球队都赢得了州冠军 1966.

在 1967, 而工作先声夺人计划, 博士. 阿诺德写的第一PPEP, 公司. 发放扶贫计划提交给途胜战的建议, 这是由总统肯尼迪/约翰逊政府发起. 最初的资金是用于 $19,000, 从他买了 48 乘客 1957 被称为“香格里拉托尔”雪佛兰校车 (乌龟). 博士. 阿诺德是司机, 技工学校和老师传授实用的教育教导,帮助短工农场工人作好准备,也能在我们的社会. 经住在墨西哥, 他了解第一手这是什么生活,用不同的语言和文化研究在一个陌生的社会.

从PPEP的卑微登上香格里拉托尔 49 几年前, 博士. 阿诺德, 董事和专职工作人员的PPEP董事会寻求开展梦想“提高生活质量”的农业工人和农村贫困人参观了公交车在那些成长期. 他的作品已被列为国家模式 10 在中美次. 国会纪录, 其中引用了中美. 国会议员尤德尔, 科尔贝, 牧师, 格里哈尔瓦, 吉福兹, 和参议员: DeConcini, 麦凯恩, 凯尔和怀俄明州的恩兹. 在白宫他的计划已经两度荣获, 在众多其他认可在国内和国际. 美国国会议员, 埃德牧师写道“这是你的眼光和能量转化的”香格里拉托尔“成为一个主要的力量”提高生活在亚利桑那州的品质与世界“. 美国参议员, 迈克·恩兹写, “你可能是最具创新性的人,我知道. 它总是迷人的,学习新的和有趣的进展, 加上正在为移民农场工人和他们的孩子们的声音。“参议员麦凯恩表示,”最终,很多我们的未来依赖于诸如PPEP计划“ www.ppep.org.

博士. 阿诺德曾在图森都市教育委员会十年 (1990 以 2000). 他一直在建立 11 雇农, 农村和城市内部PPEP TEC的特许高中, 已毕业 3,500 在- 高危学生以饱满的高中文凭. 在 2003, PPEP合作与K-12公司. 并成立了ArizonaVirtualAcademy. 这是K - 12 等级上线超过教学计划 4,000 学生 (www.AZVA.org). 在 2007, 与Insight伙伴关系隶属于凤​​凰城大学开设了虚拟的特许高中在加利福尼亚州和爱达荷州. 有识之士在亚利桑那州 2012. 在 1985 博士. 阿诺德组织在美国的第一个微型的商业项目之一,从墨西哥进口的典范. 迄今为止, 这个计划已经借给了 22 万美元的小额业务定位主要在美国墨西哥边境地区. 博士. 阿诺德还担任全国农场工人咨询委员会为美国. 劳工部在美国三大秘书部, 提供咨询. 最近,, 他一直活跃在BI全国贸易委员会的形成促进进出口和微型企业产品的论述,这被称为“迷你或微型北美自由贸易协定”。在 1990, 的捐赠 $5,000 有人向晖德索诺拉充分利用他们的农村小额贷款基金,目前是全球最大的墨西哥1, 总部设在克夫雷贡城, 索诺拉. 有名望的雇农馆被命名为他的努力. 交通运输部近日与途胜墨西哥友好城市项目参加. 在 2007 他组织了墨西哥的飓风亨丽埃特的雅基和梅奥部落“的受害者这再加上塔巴斯科和Jimena灾害的类似努力的一个主要的人道主义救援工作. 在 2008, LULAC以他的名字建立了一个国家人道主义奖. 此外, 他谈判 3.25 万美元的奖学金受益 100 拉丁裔学生的凤凰城大学.

今天的“香格里拉托尔”校车的传统生活过了 550 在员工 35 现场和岗位培训全州办事处. 此外, PPEP公司. 已被确认的 92ND 最大的雇主亚利桑那州南部的. PPEP提供通- 通过资金雇农基层在落基山国家和夏威夷的经济适用房项目. PPEP最大的项目, 其中有博士在一个特殊的地方. 阿诺德心脏, 提供服务的发育障碍. PPEP成立 18 儿童之家, 住宅, 亚利桑那州各地农村和工地. 亚利桑那星编辑表示:“阿诺德是一个向导,在拉伸的钱来自政府和私人来源获得最大的人,并帮助农村贫困以及给他们的尊严在他们的生活, “这是最好的服务的钱可以买到。”毛伊岛连接提供给数十西班牙裔农场工人到茂宜岛PPEP的迁移任期的工作在1990年的菠萝和甘蔗地. 后来, 微型贷款计划成立有, 现在涵盖了所有的岛屿.

在中美. 教育厅授予PPEP的高中同等学历课程 (HEP), 第二个为期五年的合同,以协助成年移民农场工人,以获得他们的GED证书. 迄今为止, 一些 1,000 雇农成年人从高能物理程序尤马县单独毕业. 在HUD资助青年打造计划已送达 158 辍学施工技能和就业机会的建设和修复了 120 并建 30 在圣路易斯和萨默顿新农场工人家庭, 亚利桑那. 在80年代中期PPEP, 公司. 是纳瓦霍族最大的分包商的工作培训, 经济适用房和电脑培训学校. 在 2000, 他组织了雇农LULAC会 #1088, 这是目前国内最大的成人议会. 此外, 他组织了几十个LULAC青年, LULAC KIDZ, 和成人LULAC议会, 其中大多数是亚利桑那州的农场工人和农村地区. 在 2013 , 在LULAC国家主席玛格丽特·莫兰再度委任议员. 阿诺德作为教育的两个LULAC国家主席和国际关系的第七条款椅, 这是联合国拉丁美洲公民最优先的联赛中. 在 2007, 博士. 阿诺德组织LULAC的第一个国际委员会在埃莫西约, 墨西哥, 后来, 其次是印度和非洲. 博士. 阿诺德管理在巴塔哥尼亚的周末, 亚利桑那, Grayce的礼物和蜡烛店,以及在直径德洛斯Muertos博物馆,史密森学会已经公认的“先河北美” www.grayces.com. 在PPEP, 公司. 老巴“香格里拉托尔”已恢复和世界各地放置在名人堂的雇农厅也承认由史密森与游客. 间 2010 和 2012, 他与医生进行讲座. 加布里埃尔Cousens对糖尿病/可持续发展有机农业加纳的自然治愈, 尼日利亚, 埃塞俄比亚和十二月 2013 在喀麦隆.

在 2005, 他组织了飓风卡特里娜/丽塔农场工人救济合作伙伴关系,其中包括世界护理, LULAC, 和密西西比三角洲理事会NBC新闻称为“最大的非政府, 同类型的州际救灾工作, 永远。“这个救援工作是记录在五页的美国国会纪录. 另外,在 2008, 博士. 阿诺德在尼日利亚和加纳建立了非洲第3小额信贷/合作的“混合型”贷款资金. www.ghanaoldbaika.org. 在 2011 他成立了西非乡村营造协会,负责监督学校发展经济, 营养和文化项目. www.africawaresdonate.org. 据报道,在西非每日太阳新闻这方面的努力; “慈善事业与别不同; 美国人如何感动生命百万。“他在他的居住地达兰萨拉会见了达赖喇嘛尊者, 印度会见了埃塞俄比亚总统 2011. 另外,在 2012, 他建立了营养, 小额信贷, 在喀麦隆和埃塞俄比亚可持续农业项目. 在 2010, 2民谣一份英文和西班牙文共组成记录在他的生命通道. 创造了动机的说法; 是的,我们做了,如果他能!

Awards and Acknowledgements

LULAC National Cesar Chavez Leadership and Community Service Award 2004
Arizona LULAC “Man of the Year” Award 2004 和 2006
Chaplain for LULAC Arizona
LULAC National Education Chair Co Chair & International Relations Chair
National Humanitarian Award Created in his name 2008
AFOP Presidents Humanitarian Award 2009
Rotarian Owerri, Nigeria District 9140
Elevated to Royal Status “Nana Bloti Omaboyo,” Baika-Buem Kingdom, 加纳 2011
Ordained Moh Ntoh ,Prince Bambui Fondom, 喀麦隆
Reconocimiento Ohtli 2016

Dr. John David Arnold

Dr. John David Arnold was born in ‘Pennsylvania Dutch Country’ on a small farm located near Doylestown in Bucks County.  His late father whose family dates from the early 1600’s was a writer and inventor, who wrote the first motor tourist guide of Mexico for Triple A and Popular Mechanics Magazines in the 1950’s.  His mother was an artist, sculptor, and micro business owner of Grayce’s Gift Shop in Patagonia, Arizona until age of 97.  Dr. Arnold has two sisters, Janie & Elaine.  Dr. Arnold has been a resident of Arizona for over five decades and presently resides in both Tucson and Patagonia, Arizona.  Dr. Arnold is a single parent with three daughters and one stepson; Loree, Renato, (born in Lima, Peru) Chaska, 19 and Tika, 16.  All four have attended and excelled in traditional and public charter schools.   Dr. Arnold moved to Guadalajara, Mexico with his family when he was six years old, and attended elementary school at Colegio Cervantes.  He moved to Nogales, Arizona after five years in Guadalajara.  His family then moved to Tucson’s south side circa 1958 where he attended Wakefield Junior High and Pueblo High Schools.  Subsequently, Dr. Arnold graduated from the University of Arizona, with a Bachelor’s Degree in Spanish and Sociology, two Master’s Degrees in Administration and Education, (M. Ed) with a Ph.D. in the same fields.  At age 12, because he spoke Spanish he was invited by his church’s bus ministry to go to the Bracero farmworker camps as an interpreter. At age 16, he drove his own church bus and established the migrant ministries in Santa Cruz Valley, Rillito, and Marana, Arizona.  At age 18, he was ordained and pastored the First Southern Baptist Church in Catalina, Arizona.  His teaching and coaching career was in private schools where he organized the Arizona Independent High School Athletic Association.  His basketball, football, track and baseball teams all won state championships in 1966.

In 1967, while working for the Head Start Program, Dr. Arnold wrote the first PPEP, Inc. grant proposal submitted to the Tucson War on Poverty Program, which was initiated by the Presidents Kennedy/Johnson Administrations.  The initial funding was for $19,000, from which he bought a 48 passenger 1957 Chevrolet school bus known as “La Tortuga” (the tortoise).  Dr. Arnold was the driver, mechanic and school teacher imparting practical educational teachings to help the Bracero farmworkers prepare themselves to be productive in our society.  Having lived in Mexico, he understood first-hand what it was to live and study in an unfamiliar society with a different language and culture.

From PPEP’s humble beginnings aboard La Tortuga 49 years ago, Dr. Arnold, the PPEP Board of Directors and dedicated staff have sought to carry out the dreams to “improve the quality of life” of the farmworkers and rural poor whom visited the bus in those formative years.  His work has been cited as national models 10 times in U.S. Congressional Records, including citations by U.S. Congressmen Udall, Kolbe, Pastor, Grijalva, Giffords, and Senators: DeConcini, McCain, Kyl and Enzi of Wyoming. His programs have been honored twice at the White House, among numerous other recognitions nationally and internationally.  US Congressman, Ed Pastor wrote “It is your vision and energy that transformed ‘La Tortuga’ into a major force for ‘Improving the quality of life in Arizona and the world”.  US Senator, Mike Enzi wrote, “you may be the most innovative person I know.  It’s always fascinating to learn of your new and intriguing advances, plus being a voice for the migrant farmworker and their kids.”  Senator McCain stated “Ultimately much of our future depends on programs such as PPEP” www.ppep.org.

Dr. Arnold served on the Tucson Metropolitan Education Council for ten years (1990 to 2000).  He has been instrumental in establishing 11 farmworker, rural and inner city PPEP TEC charter high schools, which have graduated 3,500 at- risk students with full high school diplomas.  In 2003, PPEP partnered with K-12 Inc. and established the ArizonaVirtualAcademy. This is a K – 12 grade on-line instructional programs with over 4,000 students (www.AZVA.org).  In 2007, a partnership with Insight affiliated with the University of Phoenix has opened virtual charter high schools in California and Idaho. Insight Arizona in 2012.  In 1985 Dr. Arnold organized one of the first micro business programs in the US with a model imported from Mexico.  To date, this program has lent over 22 million dollars to micro business located primarily on the US Mexico border region.  Dr. Arnold has also served on the National Farmworker Advisory Council for the U.S. Department of Labor under three US Secretaries, providing consultation.  Most recently, he has been active in the formation of The Bi National Trade Council promoting import and export and expositions of microbusiness products which has been called the “Mini or Micro NAFTA.”  In 1990, a donation of $5,000 was made to FAI de Sonora to capitalize their rural micro loan fund which presently is one of the largest in Mexico, based in Ciudad Obregon, Sonora. There a farmworker Hall of Fame was named for his efforts. Mot recently participated with Tucson Mexico Sister Cities project. In 2007 he organized a major humanitarian relief effort among the Yaqui and Mayo tribes’ victims of Mexico’s Hurricane Henriette this coupled with similar efforts in the Tabasco and Jimena disasters.  In 2008, LULAC created a National Humanitarian Award in his name. Moreover, he negotiated 3.25 million in scholarships benefiting 100 Latino students with University of Phoenix.

Today the legacy of the “La Tortuga” school bus lives on through the over 550 employees in 35 field and job training offices statewide. Furthermore, PPEP Inc. has been recognized the 92nd largest employer in Southern Arizona.  PPEP provides pass- through funds to farmworker grass roots affordable housing programs in the Rocky Mountain States and Hawaii.  PPEP’s largest program, which has a special place in Dr. Arnold heart, provides services to the developmentally disabled.  PPEP has established 18 group homes, residential, and work sites across rural Arizona. The Arizona Star Editorial stated “ Arnold is a wizard at stretching money from government and private sources to get the most out of them and aid the rural needy as well as give them dignity in their lives, “that is the best service money can buy.”  The Maui Connection was a term given to PPEP’s migration of dozens Hispanic farmworkers to the Island of Maui to work the pineapple and cane fields in 1990’s. Later, a micro loan program was established there, which now covers all the islands.

The U.S. Department of Education awarded PPEP the High School Equivalency Program (HEP), a second five-year contract to assist adult migrant farmworkers to obtain their GED certification.   To date, some 1,000 farmworker adults have graduated from the HEP program in Yuma County alone.  The HUD funded Youth Build Program has served 158 drop outs with construction skills and jobs building and rehabilitating over 120 and built 30 new farmworker homes in San Luis and Somerton, Arizona.  In the mid 1980’s PPEP, Inc. was the Navajo Nation’s largest sub-contractor in job training, affordable housing and computer training schools.  In 2000, he organized the Farmworker LULAC Council #1088, which was the nation’s largest adult council. Furthermore, he organized dozens of LULAC Youth, LULAC KIDZ, and adult LULAC councils, mostly among Arizona’s farmworker and rural regions.   In 2013 , the LULAC National President Margaret Moran re-appointed Dr. Arnold as both LULAC National Chair of Education and Chair of International Relations for a seventh terms, which are among the League of United Latin America Citizens highest priorities.  In 2007, Dr. Arnold organized LULAC’s first international council in Hermosillo, Mexico, later, followed by India and Africa.  Dr. Arnold manages on the weekends in Patagonia, Arizona, Grayce’s Gift and Candle Shop as well as the Dia de Los Muertos Museum which the Smithsonian Institute has recognized as the “first of its kind in North America” www.grayces.com.  At PPEP, Inc. the old bus “La Tortuga” has been restored and placed in the Farmworker Hall of Fame also recognized by the Smithsonian with visitors worldwide. Between 2010 and 2012, he conducted seminars along with Dr. Gabriel Cousens on the natural cure of Diabetes/sustainable organic farming Ghana, Nigeria, and Ethiopia and December 2013 in Cameroon.

In 2005, he organized the Hurricanes Katrina/Rita Farmworker Relief partnership that included World Care, LULAC, and Mississippi Delta Council that NBC News called “the largest non-governmental, interstate relief effort of its kind, ever.”  This relief effort was documented in five pages of the US Congressional Record.  Also in 2008, Dr. Arnold established Africa’s first three micro credit/cooperative “Hybrid” loan funds in Nigeria and Ghana. www.ghanaoldbaika.org.   In 2011 he established the West African Rural Empowerment Society that oversees schools economic development, nutrition and cultural projects. www.africawaresdonate.org.  These efforts were reported in the West African Daily Sun News; “Philanthropy with a Difference; How an American Touched the Lives of Millions.” He met with His Holiness the Dalai Lama at his residence in Dharamsala, India met with the President of Ethiopia 2011. Also in 2012, he established nutrition, micro credit, sustainable farming projects in Cameroon and Ethiopia.  In 2010, two ballads one in English and one in Spanish were composed recorded on his life pathway. Coined the motivational sayings; Si Se Pudo y Si se Podrá! 

Awards and Acknowledgements

LULAC National Cesar Chavez Leadership and Community Service Award 2004
Arizona LULAC “Man of the Year” Award 2004 and 2006
Chaplain for LULAC Arizona
LULAC National Education Chair Co Chair & International Relations Chair
National Humanitarian Award Created in his name 2008
AFOP Presidents Humanitarian Award 2009
Rotarian Owerri, Nigeria District 9140
Elevated to Royal Status “Nana Bloti Omaboyo,” Baika-Buem Kingdom, Ghana 2011
Ordained Moh Ntoh ,Prince Bambui Fondom, Cameroon
Reconocimiento Ohtli 2016