国际的: 索马里之旅

 

 

举措

Somalia: FGM减少和赋予妇女权力倡议 2015

在过去的几年里, 亚利桑那州已经主要通过在图森的难民安置计划与索马里链接, 亚利桑那. 原来, 索马里难民开始来到我们的办公室寻求小企业开发贷款援助, 在职培训, 青少年见习, 特许学校教育, 与健康相关的问题. 随着越来越多的索马里人来到图森, 我们开始做由难民人口最该社区家访. 一路上我们都放的联系方式,在索马里摩加迪沙一家非营利组织,正在对这一关键的健康问题影响到年轻女孩和妇女被称为女性生殖器操纵 (FGM). 这使我们意识到面临大部分来自索马里未来的孕妇潜在的危及生命的严重并发症. 被称为AED或援助和教育发展倡议组织.

事实证明, 我们自己的员工之一分娩过程中差点死去,因为FGM的并发症不能很好地理解. 根据我们与上述索马里非营利组织的接触,我们想出了一个为期三天的FGM还原车间的想法. 本次研讨会将包括 20 这将接受培训的妇女朝他们家社区FGM减排工作 (详见附图). 从作坊了一项研究,生产以及从熟悉的问题田野工作者的一些论文已发表.

在六月 17, 亚利桑那妇科医生的旗帜大学的一次会议, 其中FGM的讨论将是前部和中心; 从索马里社区在明尼苏达州的两个呼叫插件以及摩加迪沙将于. 谁经历FGM当地索马里妇女也将出席,以讲述自己的故事. 希望, 从这个讨论两个大陆上的努力将朝着减少FGM进行. PPEP, 公司. 计划在FGM意识进一步车间以及健康, 营养, 和自然治愈糖尿病. PPEP, 公司. 将重点放在医疗之间的链接交流, 有与难民和交易服务的那些人他们服务组织.

Presently, 我们支持AED组织在索马里制定健康问题的拨款申请. 接下来的妇女赋权研讨会将在的自然治愈和预防糖尿病. 博士. 加布里埃尔·库森斯 (生命之树) 将协助组建的课程大纲. PPEP将派出有机蔬菜包到本地小型家庭农户,使他们能够成为可持续.

这些举措的意义是,亚利桑那州和明尼苏达州的索马里难民在北美最高接受者中. 由与非政府组织的两个大洲的同意致力于解决那些最能影响美国的索马里难民问题,以及在发送国家缓解这些问题进行合作. 索马里加入埃塞俄比亚作为我们PPEP洁具东非手臂.

FGM减少研讨会报告 9.2.2015

变化的故事

FGM概念说明

International: The Somalia Journey

INITIATIVES

Somalia: FGM Reduction and Women’s Empowerment Initiative 2015

Over the past few years, Arizona has been linked with Somalia mainly through the refugee resettlement program in Tucson, Arizona. Initially, Somalian refugees started to come to our office to seek assistance for small business development loans, job training, Youth Work Experience, charter school education, and health-related issues. As more and more Somalis came to Tucson, we began to make home visits in neighborhoods that were most populated by the refugees. Along the way we were put in touch with a non-profit organization in Mogadishu Somalia that was working on this critical health issue affecting young girls and women known as Female Genital manipulation (FGM). This made us aware of potential serious life-threatening complications facing pregnant women whom were coming from Somalia. The organization known as AED or Aid and Education Development initiative.

As it turned out, one of our own employees almost died during childbirth because the complications of FGM were not well understood. Upon our contact with the aforementioned Somali nonprofit organization we came up with an idea of a three day FGM Reduction Workshop. This workshop would include 20 women that would be trained to work towards FGM reduction in their home communities (see attached photo). From the workshop a study was produced as well as some papers from fieldworkers familiar with the issue have been published.

On June 17, a meeting with the Banner University of Arizona gynecological physicians, where a discussion of FGM will be front and center; with both call ins from the Somalian community in Minnesota as well as Mogadishu will take place. Local Somali women who have experienced FGM will also be present to tell their story. Hopefully, from this discussion efforts on both continents will be made towards FGM reduction. PPEP, Inc. plans further workshops in FGM awareness as well as health, nutrition, and the natural cure diabetes.  PPEP, Inc. will focus on linking exchanges between the medical, human service organizations that have dealings with the refugees and those serving them.

Presently, we are supporting the AED organization in Somalia to develop grant applications for health related issues. The next women’s empowerment workshop will be on the Natural Cure of and Prevention of Diabetes. Dr. Gabriel Cousens (Tree of Life) will assist in putting together the curriculum outline. PPEP will be sending packets of organic vegetables to local small family farmers so they can become sustainable.

The relevance of these initiatives is that Arizona and Minnesota are among the highest recipients of Somalian refugees in North America. By having collaborating with NGO’s on both continents working in consent to address those issues that most affect United States Somalian Refugees as well as alleviate those issues in the sending nation. Somalian joins Ethiopia as our PPEP WARES East African arm.

IMG_1474

FGM Reduction Workshop Report 9.2.2015

Story of Change

FGM Concept Note